Uncategorized

Vienna Waits For You

“I’m a mess with you tonight, Hailee.”

i saw your eyes, they were blue
until they were full of flames
and i didn’t know what to do
now it’s been seven days

i know there’s someone else
not a person, but a girl
she calls on the weekend
she makes your toes curl

i could have made you happy
i could have filled your veins
but now you just wont have me
and you won’t explain

i saw your eyes, they were blue
but now they’re turning grey
you won’t know what to do
when she’s calling on the weekdays

I bought a bottle of Jameson because you said it was your favorite whiskey. I drank it until my tongue was numb. I heard Sinead sing, “I go out every night and sleep all day, since you took your love away.” And I did. I saw whoever I wanted. But nothing could take away my blues. Rivers sang that he shook at your touch, I shook at just the thought of it. Now you’ve disappeared and I don’t even know where to begin looking for you. I don’t think you want to be found, not by me. I keep rereading everything you wrote to me, every compliment, every secret, every drunk thought.

So I’ll finish this Jameson and pretend the burning on my tongue is from yours.

Leave a Reply

