poetry

My Heart is a Room

My heart is a room

Open it up and

you will find

Stacks and stacks

Of books I wanted

To but never read

Old notebooks I filled

With my thoughts and

lack there of

Loose papers spilling

Out

covered in ink,

coffee stains,

charcoal smudges,

and secrets.

Stuffed animals and

Dolls who’ve protected

Me from shadows

Whispers and monsters

With their tiny

Shields and swords

And huge courage

As I sleep and dream

And all the dreams

Dreams

Of people I wish I knew.

In the corner, with the

Cobwebs, sit old wishes,

Wishes that never came

True, cause that’s not

What wishes are suppose to do.

 

 

Leave a Reply

