Uncategorized

Phantom

I tell them, it hurts

They ask where?

I point to everything

They tell me it’s a phantom

This phantom must be my best friend

I’ve known this phantom since I was single digits

This phantom would wake me too early in the morning

keep me awake late into the night

This phantom was in my belly

was in my mind

This phantom told me how dumb I was

told me how dumb everyone else was

This phantom told me not to leave the house

This phantom told me not to leave my room

This phantom told me not to leave my bed

Even today

I wake early, after only 5 hours of sleep

Or I sleep late, refusing to leave the darkness of my bedroom

For tens of hours at a time

This phantom still tells me everyone hates me

tells me everything I say is worthless

This phantom still lives in my belly

And tells me if I took a blade to the gut it could all be over

This phantom is the only constant in my life

I take this phantom everywhere I go

Boyfriends have to make room for this phantom

Friends have to respect that this phantom calls the shots

Hailee can’t come out to play today

The phantom told her everything would go wrong

Leave a Reply

